top of page

Board of Trustees

Trustee commitment is the key component in DEF's success.

We are fortunate to have a passionate, active board of trustees who believe in education's power to transform the world. They are committed to supporting public education. They devote time, energy, and resources to implement DEF's mission in 9-R's 8 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, 2 high schools, and other academic programs within Durango School District 9-R. 

For more information regarding the commitments of our trustees, please click here.

Officers are elected annually.


Tom Geyer, President

Attorney-at-Law, Newbold Chapman & Geyer PC

Blair Matlock, Secretary

DHS alumna, Business Owner

John Feistner, Member-at-Large

Business Owner, Tegre Corporation

Robert Logan, Vice President

DHS alumnus; DHS Educator

Kevin Culhane, Treasurer

Owner, Honeyville

Jean Thweatt, Past President

Retired principal, Durango School District 9-R


Barbara McLachlan, CO General Assembly Representative, District 59

Zane Wells,  DHS Alumnus, Broker Associate, The Wells Group

Micki Hassemer,  Business Owner, Sticks & Stones Handmade 

Jessica Obleton,  DHS Alumna

Cherie Naffziger,  Registered Nurse, Small Business Owner

Erica Hendricks, Management Associate, Bank of Colorado


Pat Murphy, DHS Alumnus; Owner, Morehart Murphy Regional Auto Center

Bob Griffith, Griffith Properties

Joann Hards, Philips & Hards, P.C.

Anne Putnam, D.E.F. Founder; Retired Educator

Mary Stengel, Retired Physician

Rob Dawes Retired Attorney-at-Law

Holly Zink, DHS Alumna, Business Owner, Sunnyside Farms

Gretchen Wilson, Retired Educator


Wendy Allsbrook Javier, Executive Director

 Shirley Crom, Contracted Bookkeeper


Erika Brown,  Board Member, 9R School District

Dr. Karen Cheser, Superintendent, 9R School District

bottom of page